© 2018 Neighborhood Co-op    |    Tel: 618.529.3533    |    1815 W. Main St. Carbondale, IL 62901      neighborhood.coop

Open Daily from 7am to 10pm

  • White Facebook Icon
About Us
Your Neighborhood Co-op

Our store is not alone, but it is independent. Co-ops are based on values not unlike those we subscribe to individually, including self-responsibility, democracy, equality, honesty and social responsibility. As members of the NCGA we benefit from being part of a "virtual chain" while remaining locally controlled.

In 2004, together with many of our fellow grocery co-ops, Neighborhood Co-op helped form the National Cooperative Grocers Association (NCGA). By working together, NCGA member stores are able to offer better pricing on products. We also have a greater voice advocating for issues of importance to co-op owners. As of 2012, NCGA member stores have combined sales of over $1.5 billion and they serve more than 1.3 million people. 

Why shop at a Co-op?

The NCGA undertook a study to document the social and economic impact that our food co-ops have on their local communities. The study was conducted by the ICA Group, a not-for-profit consulting firm with expertise in cooperatives, economic development, and business research. This study marks the first time we've had quantitative data to demonstrate the economic, social, and environmental impact of food co-ops as compared to conventional grocers.

Who keeps the Co-op running?

Francis Murphy

General Manager

Francis@Neighborhood.Coop

 

Jason Hull

Prepared Foods Manager

Jason@Neighborhood.coop


Chris Neville

Produce Manager

Chris@Neighborhood.Coop

Greg Wharton

Grocery Operations Manager

Greg@Neighborhood.Coop

Theresa Brown

Wellness Manager

Theresa@Neighborhood.Coop

Pale

Customer Service Manager

Pale@Neighborhood.Coop


Amy Dion

Brand Development Manager

amy@Neighborhood.Coop

Shannon Harms

Office Manager, Personnel Administrator 

Shannon@Neighborhood.Coop

Other members of our amazing team:

 

Dylan, Bulk Buyer  -  Dylan@Neighborhood.coop

Bill DrewDairy Buyer  -  Bill@Neighborhood.Coop

Sarah Tezak, General Merchandise Buyer  -  sarah.tezak@neighborhood.coop

Michael ReeseMeat Buyer  -  michael@Neighborhood.coop

Marjorie YuillScanning Coordinator  -  Marjorie@Neighborhood.Coop

Molly Howard-CrowWellness Buyer  -  molly@neighborhood.coop

Stronger Together

Co-ops are based on values not unlike those we subscribe to individually, including self-responsibility, democracy, equality, honesty and social responsibility. 

 

In addition to these common values, seven basic principles serve as guidelines to provide a democratic structure for co-ops around the world. While adoption of these principles is not required, most co-ops choose to adopt them for their business.

 

Seven Cooperative Principles

 

Ownership (who owns the co-op)

   1. Voluntary and open membership

   2. Democratic member control

 

Decision making (how decisions are made in a co-op)

   3. Member economic participation

   4. Autonomy and independence

 

Special Practices (the ways co-ops put their beliefs into action)

   5. Education, training and information

   6. Cooperation among cooperatives

   7. Concern for community

 

Reprinted by permission from StrongerTogether.coop. Find articles about your food and where it comes from, recipes and a whole lot more at www.strongertogether.coop.

Interested in starting a Co-op?

Check out these resources:

Food Co-op Initiative

CDS Consulting Co-op

Cooperative Grocer magazine